Protect brain


ANNOTeM stands for Acute Neurological Network in Northeast Germany with TeleMedicine support.
Implementation of a large TeleNeurology network in the states of Brandenburg and Mecklenburg-Vorpommern in order to improve acute neurological care in underserved areas.
More information/project description

Research Group Audebert

More information/project description

ANNOTeM was initiated in order to improve the quality of care in patients with neurological emergencies such as traumatic brain injury, spinal cord injury, stroke, brain infections or epileptic status who are admitted to rural hospitals.

The ANNOTeM concept consists of the following elements:

  • Implementation of specialized wards for in-hospital care of patients with neurological emergencies.
  • Telemedicine networking based on image transfer, video examination and Tele-EEG interpretation
  • Quality management with comprehensive training, standardized operating procedures and ongoing quality assessment
  • Optimization of interhospital transfers of patients who need interventional treatment such as catheter-based mechanical thrombectomy in stroke with large vessel occlusion.

In addition, a tele-epileptological consultation for patients with known epilepsy or unclear disorders of consciousness is carried out within the framework of the ANNOTeM project.

The ANNOTeM project is funded by the Innovation-Funds of the German Federal Joint Committee and is being evaluated on the basis of routine data of the participating health care companies.


Project Coordination and Steering Committee

  • Prof. Dr. Heinrich A. Audebert, MD (Principal investigator)
  • Prof. Dr. Matthias Endres
  • Dr. Joachim Weber, MD (Project co-ordinator)
  • Dr. Ingo Schmehl, MD
  • Dr. Stephan Kinze, MD (regional network coordinator)
  • Prof. Agnes Flöel, MD
  • Dr. Anselm Angermaier, MD (regional network coordinator)
  • Prof. Straub, MD
  • Dr. A. Sotodeh, MD (tele-epilepsy network coordinator)

Tele-Neurologists (only Charité)

  • Dr. Alexander Kunz, MD
  • Dr. Hebun Erdur, MD
  • Dr. Thomas Liman, MD
  • Dr. Jan Scheitz, MD
  • Dr. Ludwig Schlemm, MD
  • Dr. Julia Lange, MD Quality

Management and Administration

  • Dr. Kerstin Bollweg
  • Claudia Gorski
  • Katharina Kleinsteuer
  • Sara Theen
  • Antje Presch

Specialist Nurses

  • Ulrike Hopf
  • Birgit Landes-Fritzsche

Evaluation Team (Berlin Institute of Public Health)

  • Prof. Tobias Kurth
  • Sara Theen
  • Dr. Farid Ihab Kandil

Consortium Partners

  • Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin
  • Universitätsklinikum Greifswald
  • Unfall-Krankenhaus Berlin
  • Epilepsie-Zentrum Berlin-Brandenburg
  • AOK (General Local Health Insurance)
  • Techniker Krankenkasse

Related Projects

Back to overview
Logo Charité Berlin Logo Center for Stroke Research Berlin
© 2021 CSB | TYPO3 Website made by Kombinat Berlin